My Lost Phone: The mail trail

I was in love with it…the sleek, slightly bulky but feature packed N73. I would never have parted with it but destiny had charted another course altogether. In the darkness of the ‘Gold Class’  section at Fame Adlabs, Andheri, my phone, my beloved, parted ways with me.

The shock and sorrow of the loss was unbearable and still continues to haunt me today but life had to go on. As tradition holds, I was to ask all my peers and loved ones to share their contact numbers with me one more time. This I managed through the following ‘obituary’ cum request for numbers:

Hellos

For the first time in my tryst with the mobile phone I have actually managed to lose one…my treasured Nokia N 73. Along with it, my list of treasured contacts.

Please do respond to this mail with your contact no

thanks and regards

Robin


What followed was a deluge of responses expressing sympathy with me, my phone and my marriage!!

Here are some of the touching responses:

My sis-in-law:

Aayyooooo…Hw did it happen?!!
Hearty congratulations..(d way u have written makes me say this)
My friend from Chennai (Jat settled in Chennai)
Following is mine:
919XXXXXXX
Ya I understand these things happen after marriage ;-))
My close pal  from MBA and world record holder for maximum number of mobiles lost (all high end ones)
Oh!!! … How did you manage to do that … Anyways join the gang you just have to now lose/break 7 more mobiles to match 😉
Another of my batchmates

Hey Robin,

Nice to see more and more people joining the “Kaju’s club” (nickname for another of my batchmates…guess he too has a habit of losing mobile phones)…anyways my contact No. is 9XXXXXXXXX….

Happy losing….;)

Another of my close pals
Gr8 work ladke…herz mine..99XXXXXXXX..
The Corporate Response (Connection in big IT firm)
Get used to backing up data! Mine is 9XXXXXXXXX
Nervous pal (from school)

here you go – 09XXXXXXXXX

hope i’ll remain in your good books ….. sorry, phone book 🙂

Rgds,
XXXX

Pal from Oracle Days

Hey,

How did you manage to lose your phone..but anyways don’t fret…God has given you an opportunity to buy a new phone that too without feeling guilty…so enjoy…
My number is 09XXXXXXXXXX…
Keep in touch..
Close Pal
poda thendi (malayalam for ‘Get Lost Beggar’)
9XXXXXXXXXXX
The Vengeful friend: Another close pal from school days
kya karega no. ka? tere saath aisa hi hona chahiye.chal koi baat nahin yaar. its 9XXXXXXXXX
These heartfelt responses prompted me to buy another phone: This time a Samsung Star with a ‘mobile tracker!!’. Memories of the Nokia N73 still remain though. The Fame guys could not manage to find my beloved though I strongly suspect the chair that refused to budge to be somehow responsible for my loss…
Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “My Lost Phone: The mail trail

  1. smita says:

    i m so happy you lost your mobile..atleast you started writing back.missed your blogs so much. what man,i neevr knew these are the side effects of getting married, that you stop writing and you loose your phone.
    hoping to see more of your blogs..so what you planning to loose next.

  2. robinjabraham says:

    Hahaha…my hands have been itching to write for a long time now. Will be more disciplined though and update once in 7 days. That’ll help the creative juices flow well:)

Leave a Reply

